Since the fellowship's inception in 1977, the University of Iowa has supported fifteen Truman Scholars and at least eight finalists, with six consecutive recipients from 2008 through 2013. 

In June of 2009, the University of Iowa was named a Truman Foundation Honor Institution in recognition of its “active encouragement of outstanding young people to pursue careers in public service.” The award goes to institutions of higher education that enjoy sustained success in helping their students win Truman Scholarships and in the promotion of the principles of public service demonstrated by the foundation’s namesake.


              C.J. Petersen, 2024

              Jeffrey Ding, 2015

              Zacharia Patrick Wahls, 2013

              Conner Chivone Spinks, 2012

              Veena Irene Patel, 2011

             Christopher M. Page, 2010

             Rachel Ann Nathanson, 2009

             Meredith J. DeBoom, 2008

             Lana S. Zak, 1999

             Jill K. French, 1996

             Lyn E. Raue, 1988

             Kim Williams, 1987

            David J. Manderscheid, 1986

            Brian Dean Taylor, 1984

            David J. Goldburg, 1983



            Laura Widman, 2020

            Jacob Simpson, 2017

            Lauren Freeman, 2016

            Carter Bell, 2015 

            Maddie Bro, 2015 

            Nic Pottebaum, 2012

            Atul Nakhasi, 2008 

            Andy Stoll, 2002


For more information about applying for campus nomination at the University of Iowa, contact Kelly Thornburg, our Truman Faculty Representative in the Office of Scholar Development at